The Three Stats That Will Drive Your Music School Student Registrations From Your Website.

Today I’d like to introduce or possibly re-introduce the classic sales funnel for your business. Traditionally, sales funnels for online businesses follow this pattern:

Traffic – Leads – Sales

When we apply this funnel to music school websites, we have a very similar result

Traffic – Student Contact Information (Leads) – New Student (Sales)

The fascinating thing about the online sales funnel is that it is very easy to track all of these details. When you can track how many leads it takes to make one sale, and how much traffic is needed to generate one lead, you can increase your business at will. The sky’s the limit when you have these three figures in your hand. Let’s go through an example.

In my own former teaching business, galwayguitarlessons.com, I knew these figures inside out. When I has a potential student in front of me, I almost always made the sale. So my conversion rate for sales was 90%.

My website worked well enough – for every 140 people to visit my website, 1 person filled in my very detailed contact form. My website was designed in such a way as to eliminate people who weren’t serious about learning guitar, so if you have more relaxed standards you could do far better than that.

So if I wanted ten new students, I could just work backwards on those figures and I’d know exactly how much I needed to spend to get those ten students.

Sales – 90% conversion rate. If I assume 10% of people I meet won’t sign up, I’ll need 11 people to fill in my contact form and meet me.

Leads – 140:1. I need 11 people to contact me to get 10 new students, so that means I need 1540 (11×140) people to visit my site to get 10 filled in contact forms. That means I need to drive 1,540 visits to my website in a given time period.

So now my sales funnel looks like this:

Traffic

Student Contact Information (Leads)

New Student (Sales)

140

1

.9

1,540

11

10

So there you have it. Just by having a target and the proper stats, I can very easily drive student registration.

If you want to increase it by even more, you just keep multiplying.

Traffic

Student Contact Information (Leads)

New Student (Sales)

140

1

.9

1,540

11

10

15,400

110

100

Action Step: Review your google analytics for your website. Review how many people it takes to gain one student or contact form. If you don’t have this set up, consider hiring a freelancer to set it up. these stats are just too important to ignore.

Leave a Reply

